Bonsia from acorn

Ta1ch1(8a)September 30, 2011

Ok so I just discovered an acorn with a six inch sapling growing from it. It has three fairly large leaves on the top and I would like to use this sapling to produce a reasonable small (2 to 3 feet) bonsai. can someone please give this total beginner an idiots guide as to what to do next.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a

Sure.
Grow it in-ground for fastest increase in trunk caliper and foliage.
Or, if the ground isn't an option, grow it in a large container.

I have grown oaks from acorns directly in containers, and it is very slow.
I have also collected oaks that sprouted in the ground, and moved them to containers.
To do this, I recommend waiting until the tree is just about to begin growing next Spring.
Mark the location of the sapling, protect it if need be, and return in the Spring.

Where do you live/grow?

Josh

Bookmark   October 1, 2011 at 1:10PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Tiffany, purpleinopp GardenWeb, Z8b Opp, AL(8B AL)

I hope you have better luck than I have. When you want to kill an oak seedling you can cut the top off like weekly for the rest of your life it seems and it won't give up. But every sprout I've tried to dig and pot has died. Are there other acorns around your yard? I don't see what difference a year or two would make in the overall scheme of a bonsai, you might have better luck sprouting your own acorn in a pot (outside) from the jump start.

I was trying to harvest 4 sprouts to start growing a living chair. This thread inspires me to go grab a few of the 2.9 billion acorns in the yard and stick them in pots before spring. Maybe if I then bury the pots as close to my most thorny roses as possible they'll be fooled into "sprouting in captivity."