New to veggies and need advice

rakin(7b)February 19, 2014

This is my first year trying veggies and I want to plant some Roma tomatoes and some type of pickling cucumbers in containers. (I don' t think my raised bed gets quite enough sun for these - it faces east and gets dappled sun from 7:30ish - 9 and full sun from 9 - 1) If that's doable great. But in the meantime, I have a patio planter that is 12x12x27. Can I use that for cucumbers on a trellis? Is it deep enough for the roots? If so, how many cucumber plants can I fit comfortably in there? I am hoping to get enough to make 3-4 jars of pickles minimum. Since I don't know a thing about growing cucumbers, I don't know if that is possible with containers.
Also, I have 2 self water containers that are 16" rounds by about 24" deep. Is this okay for the Romas? I know they say to use large containers for tomatoes, but I didn't know if a small determinate would be okay for this size. I have so many questions, but I will leave it at this for the moment. Unless someone wants to throw in some advice on container grown sugar baby watermelons. :-)

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Oxboy555(Las Vegas)

Assuming that 12x12x27 is inches, not feet. :)

Can't help with the cucumbers but that' size will work for the Romas or any dwarfs/cherries. You could make that size work for a lot of cherry-ish indets like Sungold too if you plant them deep and water religiously.

Bookmark   February 19, 2014 at 1:51PM
calbayarea(9 SF Bay/Fremont)

I grew some cucumbers last year in five gallon buckets which I'm guessing is close to your 12 x 12 and they came out OK. I had one plant per bucket. I also did some watermelon in 12 gallon container and actually got a few medium sized ones.

Bookmark   February 20, 2014 at 12:53AM
rakin(7b)