Organic soil for containers or in ground?

LisaAZ(9)February 23, 2014

Is there a huge difference here? I do some gardening in very large Rubbermaid type tubs. Just noticed the organic garden soil I bought says 'not for containers'. What's the difference? Do I need to amend the soil, and how? I cannot mix in any of my yard dirt because it's been compromised by years of weed control with the dreaded Monsanto Round-Up.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
catherinet(5 IN)

I'm no expert, but speaking from personal experience, plain garden soil tends to get really hard over a couple of years, and it needs more "fluff" in it.

I am very hesitant to use peat, vermiculite, perlite, for various reasons....which is pretty much what's in potting soil. My plan in my next containers is to use lots and lots of home-grown compost, and lots of straw. I'm hoping this will prevent the hardness. Plus, if you do something like this, you should turn and incorporate more of the natural stuff in every year in your containers.

My rubbermaid tubs cracked over a couple of years. This year, I'm going with a metal stocktank. Good luck!.

I'm sure others will chime in here soon.

Bookmark   February 23, 2014 at 2:45PM
LisaAZ(9)

Additional info: the product I purchased is Miracle Gro Organic Choice Garden Soil (for in-ground vegetables, fruits, flowers & herbs).

Bookmark   February 23, 2014 at 3:35PM
tapla (mid-MI z5b-6a)