Hellebores with bulbs?

daysquid(7a Annapolis, MD)August 9, 2012

I'm new to gardening and have purchased some grape galaxy hellebores. I'd really like suggestions on what bulbs to plant with them. Thanks to all.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gardengal48

I'd consider snowdrops (Galanthus nivalis), checker lilies (Fritillaria meleagris) or any of the early narcissus, like 'Tete a tete'. Any crocus would work, too. These all tend to have an early bloom season so will compliment the flowering of the hellebore and are happy in part shade or less than full sun locations. And they appreciate the dryness in summer, as does the hellebore.

Bookmark   August 10, 2012 at 2:40PM
daysquid(7a Annapolis, MD)

I love these suggestions. Thanks. I also found this tulip...

http://www.burpee.com/flowers/flowering-bulbs/fall-planted-bulbs/tulip-bulbs/tulip-insulinde-prod002450.html

Do you think it would work?

Bookmark   August 10, 2012 at 10:08PM
gardengal48

It's a beautiful tulip so plant it if you like but it will be in bloom much later than the hellbores. Also would prefer to be in full sun.

Bookmark   August 12, 2012 at 1:02PM

Maybe I'll experience with a few -- but thanks for pointing out that it likes full sun. Hmmm.

Bookmark   August 12, 2012 at 7:56PM
flora_uk(SW UK 8/9)

Not exactly bulbs but I have pink and white hardy Cyclamen under/between my hellebores which cope with the dry conditions and flower in late summer.

Bookmark   August 13, 2012 at 10:35AM
vetivert8(NI-NZ zone 9a)

Also not exactly bulbs - and in small patches where the Hellebores won't swamp them - Anemone blanda, Anemone nemorosa, Polygonatum (variegated, otherwise it could be a 'battle of the garden thugs') and, if they're hardy for you - various Corydalis.

Bookmark   August 14, 2012 at 4:09AM
flora_uk(SW UK 8/9)

Yes - I have Corydalis solida in the same bed. Very early and then disappears until next spring.

Bookmark   August 14, 2012 at 4:27AM