okay to top dress 5-1-1 with compost?

njitgradApril 30, 2014

5-1-1 newbie here. I'd like to know if anyone here adds compost to their 5-1-1 mix either before planting (mixed in) or afterwards (top dressing) throughout the season? I never thought about this until now and I hope that the large amount of compost I started last year is actually going to serve some purpose.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
johns.coastal.patio(USDA 10b, Sunset 24)

From the University of Vermont Extension:

"Issues with compost in potting mix. "In some ways, compost is like snowflakes" no two batches of compost are exactly alike. So while compost usually adds value to a potting mix, it can also add a measure of uncertainty about performance that is not the case with conventional mixes. Immature compost in particular can harm seedlings by releasing ammonia, or tying up nitrogen, or stunting growth because of organic acids that have not fully decomposed. To avoid these problems it is important to use only mature compost, and to buy it from a reputable source or to carefully make your own using a consistent supply of high quality ingredients."

More at the link.

Here is a link that might be useful: http://www.uvm.edu/vtvegandberry/factsheets/pottingmix.html

Bookmark   April 30, 2014 at 10:24AM
johns.coastal.patio(USDA 10b, Sunset 24)

(I do like, and use, compost myself for large outdoor containers, But I recognize those caveats. Most old gardening books talk about "well aged" compost for those reasons.)

Bookmark   April 30, 2014 at 10:31AM
thedogsLL(6B)