advice on first pass at landcaping plan

Caddeau(6)March 14, 2012

We are near the end of an interior renovation, and I'm turning my attention now to landscaping, which was never much but has pretty much been destroyed by renovation. I know you need a lot of information to make sound gardening/landscaping decisions, but I'm hoping that GW gurus might be able to give me a few pointers to get me started in the right direction. I include the existing site and my current landscaping plans below. What I'm trying to accomplish:

A) without spending too much money, develop a plan that will allow us (2 adults, 2 children, 1 dog)to enjoy house and its connection to yard. Large yard is to NE side of house

B) give us more privacy from neighbors on south side of house

C) give us some privacy from street on patio

I know it's a lot to ask, but if you can point out the obvious things I need to consider or do differently I'd appreciate your advice as I've never done this before.

plan

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tanowicki

Can you redraw your pictures with your house as just a block and not all the furniture?

Why are you planning on all the gravel to the south and west of your house?

Bookmark   March 14, 2012 at 6:35PM
deviant-deziner(Oh zone)

The most obvious element that jumped out at me was the fantastic opportunity that you have in regards to your front entry and the long viewing corridor that you have to the back yard.
That is an axial view that I would want to capitalize on by placing a strong sculptural piece at the end of your view.
Something strong like a wall fountain with great night time lighting would make a wow statement.

Bookmark   March 14, 2012 at 9:26PM
deviant-deziner(Oh zone)

.... opps, I was assuming that you had a glass door at the end of the corridor.
If not, then the strength of the idea is probably not very strong.

like the simplicity of your first draft. It evokes a modern aesthetic that I am attracted to.