Growing Roma Tomatoes in 5 Gallon Containers

OldMcDonaldMay 27, 2014

Hey folks! First post here! I am totally new to gardening. I only got into it because I want good veggies, and not the crap that is sold in grocery stores. I am growing my plants in 5-gallon containers on my patio. This past weekend I stopped at a nursery and bought some Roma tomatoes, as I love making good Italian sauces. Anyway, I bought 4 small Roma tomatoes that were growing together in one small pot. I would assume the roots were all intertwined at this point, so I planted them in a 5-gallon bucket. My question is, should I maybe cut down 1 or 2 of the plants now before they start to really grow? I don't want them overcrowding eachother in the pot, and there was no way I could pull them apart prior. Any suggestions??? The attached pic shows my Roma's in the far right bucket. There are 4 tiny plants in this bucket.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Joe1980(5)

I've never grown them in a container, but I can tell you that when I grow them in the ground, they are a very prolific plant, running rampant in no time. One plant will overrun a 5 gallon bucket rather easily if left to grow without pruning or pinching.

Joe

Bookmark   May 27, 2014 at 9:57PM
OldMcDonald

Arrrgh! I guess I'll chop down two of the weakest/smallest plants, and let the other two start to take off. Then I'll chop down the weakest of those remaining two plants before they grow really big.

Bookmark   May 27, 2014 at 10:17PM
jutsFL(9b (Orlando))

Agreed. I do not have mine in a container either, but as Joe stated - they will grow very large. Just one plant per bucket would be my recommendation. The Roma in my front planter (in ground) got to around 4ft tall before rains beat it down and I let it sprawl... Now it's about 4ft wide by 4ft deep as well. They will literally grow like weeds!

Jay

Bookmark   May 31, 2014 at 8:38AM
pharmachad

Cut down to one plant. I had 2 in a 5 gallon bucket