Iron deficiency in container pepperocini

jcadeMay 5, 2014

Hi everyone!

I'm new to trying to grow things and not kill them (aka gardening). We have a pepperoncini plant that had it's first bud appear over the weekend however it also has some serious signs of iron deficiency. Tested the soil's pH and combined with the yellowing of the leaves and a scorched appearance I'm hoping I can help this little guy out. I've read a lot about chelated iron being added to correct the problem but am wondering if anyone has tips or suggestions to help with this.

What we're using:
Three gallon smart pot
Aurora organics potting soil
Once a week feed with BioThrive 4-3-3 formula (It's high in nitrogen and now that I found a few buds I plan on changing the feed to something high in phosphate to get the fruit going unless there's other suggestions)
Watering when the top few inches of soil feel dry

He lives in a west facing window where he can get sun and warmth.

Thanks everyone!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jcade

Yellowing spots on leaves around veins

Bookmark   May 5, 2014 at 3:41PM
jcade

A few examples of leaves that appear "scorched" There are several of these around the plant, particularly on the larger leaves.

Bookmark   May 5, 2014 at 3:43PM
DMForcier(8 DFW)

I think the plant looks great!

Perhaps you kill plants with care. A plant needs water and sunlight. It doesn't need a chemistry lab - plants have been growing without chemicals for millions of years. I recommend that you back off on the ferts, give them a standard feeding of 3:1:2 NPK weekly (or less).

And water when the plant starts to wilt (or a little sooner once you learn how often it wants water).

For some folks the hardest thing in gardening is learning patience.

Good luck,
Dennis

This post was edited by DMForcier on Tue, May 6, 14 at 12:21

Bookmark   May 5, 2014 at 3:49PM
greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a