Help!! In desperate need of idea to make home more inviting

onestepcloserApril 9, 2014

We recently purchased our first home last fall and its now coming to the time where I am ready to make changes. As you can see I have a 1950s red brick home who is in desperate need of attention. To the left of the house there are four huge pine trees and I plan to remove the window awnings. Looking at the front of the house it reminds me of a pair of eyes on the front of the house! :) I am a beginner obviously and have no idea where to start with colors, foliage, etc. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
onestepcloser

Here is a back view besides the terribly ugly awning you can kind of see the pine trees to the right.

Bookmark   April 9, 2014 at 6:08AM
Allen456(8)

Get some graph paper and transfer your house and lot on to the paper (make several copies). Indicate north, south, east, and west. Much more important than front and back. Find out what planting zone you live in. Go to a local garden center and ask for advice. The internet is great, but nothing beats an informed, local source.

Bookmark   April 9, 2014 at 6:23AM
onestepcloser

I live in zone 5 and basically just not sure what to use with the red brick. so many people say stay away from red flowers.

Bookmark   April 9, 2014 at 10:39AM
yardvaark