I'm a newbie here.

zzackey(8b GA)May 5, 2012

I'm container growing my veggies for the first time. Someone gave me alot of free nursery cloth. I have that on the ground with my veggie pots (3 gallon and larger) on top of it. My summer squash and tomatoes are wilting from the heat. I want to use the cloth, but what can I do to help my poor babies survive? We just had our first 90+ day. TIA!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Joe1980(5)

Fabricate some sort of canopy to suspend that shade cloth over your plants to provide some sun relief. Having the cloth underneath the pots is bass-ackwards of what you need. You could also put them in a spot where they don't get hammered by strong, afternoon sun.

Joe

Bookmark   May 6, 2012 at 7:46PM
zzackey(8b GA)

The cloth is called ground cloth. It is what the nurseries use to keep the weeds away. I will try and find some shade cloth. Thanks!

Bookmark   May 7, 2012 at 4:18PM
Joe1980(5)

Ahhh, ok. I read "nursery cloth" and instantly thought of the stuff they make canopies with.

Bookmark   May 7, 2012 at 7:42PM
greentiger87

Summer squash and tomatoes should not be wilting just because of above 90 temps... there's something else going on.

Container size: 3 gallons is just too small for tomatoes. 5 gallons is the minimum, and I generally use 20 gallon tubs.

Transplant shock: did you just transplant them? They should be in partial shade until they establish.

Watering frequency: When first establishing, you may have to water transplants several times a day. In such small pots, you may not be able to get away with watering just once a day as the plant gets bigger... tomatoes pull a LOT of water as the summer goes on.