Good Azalea soil?

fredmanJune 11, 2013

Am i right in thinking a 5.1.1 without adding lime because Azalea like acid soil?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bitzppa(11)

sounds like a good idea, new to flowers but have a go and see what happens :)

BZ

Bookmark   June 11, 2013 at 10:13AM
edweather(Zone 5a/b Central NY)

Even with lime the 511 should be ok. Without lime it's around 4, and the lime doesn't bring it up to any more than 5.5 if I remember correctly. The azaleas (including ours) are growing like weeds around here in the native soil and there's no way the pH is very low. Without the lime the pH might even be too low, but I'm no azalea expert by any means.

Bookmark   June 11, 2013 at 1:37PM
fredman

My problem is i dont know of a way to reliably check the soil pH. I got myself 25 Satsuki Azaleas that i want to grow for bonsai in a few years time. They like their soil between 5.0 and 6.5. but i dont really know what the pH will be with a 5.1.1 with and without lime.
My plan is to use a mixture of bark, pumice and spagnum moss (schredded)

Bookmark   June 12, 2013 at 5:05AM
bitzppa(11)

maybe just try 1 plant in each mix and see what one does best ? then go from there ?

BZ

Bookmark   June 12, 2013 at 6:20AM
luis_pr(7b/8a Hurst, TX)

There are soil pH kits available at most plant nurseries. Can you use those? Call nearby plant nurseries to find out if they have them or stop by. They are not terribly accurate though. The soil sample will get mixed with a pill and water to turn a color that means it it is neutral, acid or alkaline. Soil pH kits that give results in numbers are more expensive but available by mail order.

Bookmark   June 12, 2013 at 10:36AM
edweather(Zone 5a/b Central NY)