Radish question

kissingfrogs2003August 21, 2011

I have sparkler radishes growing currently (a smaller container friendlyvariety) and this is my first time attempting to grow underground veggies!

I am wondering how to tell when radishes are OK to be "harvested"?

Here is a few photos of the radishes "growing up":

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Joe1980(5)

I grow tons of radishes, planting 24 per week, so I have a constant supply. I usually keep track of how many days to maturity, and when that time rolls around, use your finger to shove the dirt around the base to the side a bit, to get a look at the diamter of the top of the bulb. You're looking for an inch or so, give or take. Remember though, if you pick them too early, they are still excellent, but if you wait to long, they get woody tasting and hot, and some will crack. I hope yours turn out great, and next year, you can try growing them un succession to you have a constant supply. Note though that they are a cool season crop, and long, hot summer days don't provide the best results. You will beable to plant plenty more yet this fall.

Joe

Bookmark   August 21, 2011 at 2:10PM
kissingfrogs2003

Joe-

How do I know when to start digging around and feeling diameters?

I don't want to disturb root systems and such unneccessarily :)

Bookmark   August 22, 2011 at 11:30AM
Joe1980(5)