Potted Garden, 2 months young

gee.geeAugust 26, 2011

Hi, all -

Been lurking here for months. I'm an utter noob at gardening, I've been known to kill cactus in the past, e.g., decimated a gift 7YO bonsai plant in a matter of weeks. That said, as a kitchen-hobbyist, I''ve oft drooled at the idea of homegrown herbs and vegs, so this summer, gave it a shot.

I've cherry tomatoes, bells, mini bells, basil, eggplant, mesclun, ONE sunflower (these things got heads that are way too big for their britches), green onions, stevia. I threw out a leftover sweet potato spud for birds to nosh on, but lo and behold, it sprouted leaves, and to make it short, I'm not sure if I'm getting spuds but I've been harvesting its bountiful leaves for soups and salads. Whatever has ended up in our food, except for tomatoes, the flavors have been amazing! (*epiphany!*)

So it's been good, so far. Of course, I now know I started REALLY late if I wanted any summer offerings, so we'll enjoy the fruits of labor this fall. Also learned some pots I'm using are way too small, so will fix that for next plantings. That I'm better with transplants than starters. That earthworms are good; hornworms, very bad. And learned many, many other things, as well as making many mistakes ;D

Anyhow, re posting pics, I wanted to follow the Preview-Browse-Submit protocol, but the Browse button was unavailable during Preview Message. So, just wanted to thank everyone here who've shared their photos, expert input, and experiences... I've learned so much from you!

Gardening does the body good ;D

Cheers,

G.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rockguy(7a)

Welcome. Always good to have another gardener.

Bookmark   August 27, 2011 at 9:32AM
Ohiofem(6a Ohio)

Welcome and I'm glad you've decided to stop lurking and join the conversation. It's great that you were brave enough to try growing so many different kinds of plants. The more you grow, the more you learn.