What is wrong with my plants?? Have pics

almahaaSeptember 4, 2012

I'm a newbie container gardener who has made a big hobby of it. Everything was thriving, until we moved. About a week later my plants started getting black spot, probably from the trees in our neighbor's yard which I've noticed are covered with it. I started spraying with Daconil to prevent further spread of the black spot and everything took a turn for the better. We've been having a good amount of rain, don't know if that is what is doing but it seems like overnight the leaves on a good number of my plants are turning brown from the inside out.

As you can see it has affected my roses (which are still blooming like crazy), tomatoes(which are still ripening just fine), blackberries and strawberries... even my resilient lemon balm is looking kind of sickly! The tomatoes had many blackened leaves that resembled the strawberry plants but I picked them all off before I got my camera. There is no tell-tale yellowing from this like the black spot. What is wrong with them??

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
greentiger87

At least on the blackberry, roses, and strawberry, it looks a lot like leaf burn from the Daconil. Did you apply it at a greater than recommended concentration, when the temperature was high, or when the sun was beating down? The active ingredient, chlorothalonil, is a chlorinated hydrocarbon...at least until it dries, it can be phytotoxic at high temperatures.

I've never seen fungicide burn on tomato leaves in person, so I'm not sure what it looks like. That may be what's going on there too though.

Good luck with figuring it out :)

Bookmark   September 4, 2012 at 9:34PM
almahaa