Cucumber Problems

mccoml(9)May 10, 2012

I'm relatively new to gardening, and I've started having problems with my cucumbers. At first they were turning a bit yellow, and I thought I had waited to long to trellis them. I had originally mounded them, but Florida rain washed my mounds down to bumps. But after I trellised them the problem persisted, and the yellow turned to a papery brown. I've done some research, and I think it's either anthracnose, or angular leaf spot. Can someone help? I've started treating them with Neem oil last week when I decided it is a problem, and I haven't noticed any improvement.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ShenandoahJoe(6)

That's happened to mine a few times. I ignore it. Your blossoms look fine, so make sure the plant has all the nutrients it needs and the fruit should come out OK.

Bookmark   May 11, 2012 at 4:00PM
lilcee

Do they look anything like mine? Mine are all turning yellow. It's been really hot and dry here and I water them but I wonder if they're not getting enough water?

Here is a link that might be useful:

Bookmark   May 11, 2012 at 4:41PM
missingtheobvious(Blue Ridge 7a)

Just be glad they don't have mildew.

Bookmark   May 11, 2012 at 11:06PM
marys1000

I wish I could help. I have had something similar where the leaves just turned to white crunchy paper.
Definately took a toll on production. Never figured out what it was.

Bookmark   May 12, 2012 at 12:46PM
mccoml(9)