My baby Zucchini plant is dying - buds dying BEFORE opening

tanny1499May 15, 2012

Hello,

I am new to gardening and I started an organic container garden on my patio a few months ago, South Florida. I planted the Zucchini seeds in March and the plant was doing fine until a few weeks ago. A few of the leaves started turning yellow and dying and now the tiny flower buds are also dying before opening. I transplanted to a larger pot a few days ago and checked for root rot and other pests but no obvious signs. It gets about 3-4 hours of sunlight per day and I've been watering every 3 days. Below is a link to pictures of my plant. Please help!! This is disheartening for a new gardener!!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/35574258@N05/

Thank you.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
chas045(7b)

Well, I don't know anything about the tropics and should be called a newbie too. But first, I don't see anything really visually wrong with your squash. Just on the pictures, I would say you are worrying too much. HOWEVER, what is wrong is that your plant isn't growing. Since it was started in March I would guess that it should be 50 times bigger, asking to climb through the door and railing, and you should be beating it back with a machete. Too much or too little of something.

Bookmark   May 15, 2012 at 7:46PM
andreajoy(z9 sacramentoCA)

3 to 4 hours isn't enough sunlight. Is there anyway that you can move it so that it gets at least 6 hours of sunlight? I am assuming it is warm enough for your squash, considering your location. Here in my area, squash like to take their time to get going, but then they take off like gangbusters! They usually drop their blossoms too, but this is usually because they haven't been pollinated or because we had one cold night.

I think you need light. You do have good drainage in that container, right? I do agree that this plant should be at least 50 times larger. Most veggies need at least 6 hours of good sunlight in order to thrive.