Morning Sun Vs. Evening

GardenBlondeNeedHelpMay 20, 2011

I'm a newbie gardener(I prefer the eating as to the growing), so I'm a little lost. With my veggie garden I wanted to do a type of tallest-to-shortest arrangement with my plants. But I don't know if I should arrange the plants so most get morning sun or evening sun. (The tallest would shade some of the shortest one way or the other)

Oh, and I got corn, tomatoes, cantaloupe, cucumber, squash, cilantro, basil, various pepper plants and strawberry; and live in Sacramento if that helps...

Any ideas? Suggestions? Greatly appreciate it :)

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
dan_staley(5b/SS 2b AHS 6-7)

Your bad air quality is worse in the afternoon - which means a bit of extra haze blocking the blue end of the spectrum, so IMHO morning light is better. And shade during the heat of the day is good too.

Dan

Bookmark   May 20, 2011 at 7:35PM
nancyjane_gardener(Zone 8ish North of San Francisco in the "real" wine country)

Forget the cilantro in your area. Mine's already bolting in the Sonoma Co area!

Bookmark   May 20, 2011 at 9:43PM
lunita(9)

Sacramento market gardeners manage to have cilantro at our farmer's markets every single month of the year, Nancy. I think it is just a matter of lots and lots of succession planting and harvesting it while it is still young. FWIW I have some that is just right for picking in my Sacramento garden right now, and some more that was seeded about 10 days ago. I'm planning on seeding more this coming week.

(ironically, its my basil that is flowering, not my cilantro...)