drying long necked gourds

zeke(Iowa)October 10, 2006

I was wondering ( maybe this isnt the right forum )

but does anybody have any information on how to dry long necked gourds ??

thanks ,

Zeke

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
arkiema(7b Arkansas)

I've been grwoing gourds for about 25 years. The very best way to dry them is to just leave them on the vine well after a frost. I understand you most liklely have snow so after a frost kills the vine and before snow and a hard freeze, cut the stems as long as possible and hang them somewhere where they will not freeze...good air circulation is vital....keep them dry, warm and in a few months you'll hear the seeds rattle. They are ready to use. If the seeds don't rattle they are not cured and if cut into they most likely will rot. They might get mouldy but this won't hurt them one bit, don't discard them if they get moldy, it will dry and wash off when they are totally cured.....
I have a large amount of bushel basket, pengin and canteen gourd seeds, if any one is interested, I'll send them out to you for postage....
Gourds are so fun and useful for so many things. My birds love them.
arkiema

Bookmark   October 10, 2006 at 9:32PM
chezmonmi(5)

Arkiema,
Tell us how your birds love your gourds, please!

In peace from Iowa,
Elle Jaye

Bookmark   October 11, 2006 at 10:19AM
Roberta_z5(Z4/5 IL)

I made the mistake of buying a bunch of large swan gourds so I could dry them. The lady had cut them off the vines way too early and at the time, I questioned her about that. She assured me that it was no problem and they would dry just fine.

Well, all of the necks have rotted through. I am wondering if the chickens would like to eat the seeds and flesh of the bottom that isn't rotting YET???!

Bookmark   October 11, 2006 at 12:39PM
arkiema(7b Arkansas)

Elle Jay, I use them for nests and winter houses. The squirrels often are a bit destructive but even the ones they ruin are often used for mocking birds.