A living fence

whiteoakdairyDecember 8, 2008

I love my goats dearly, but unfortunately, they can jump a 4 1/2 foot tall fence, and don't mind the shock of an electric fence as long as they can get through to that juicy looking bush on the other side. I finally found a fence that is almost 6 foot tall and is an electric net, so they can't just slip through it. It is only meant to be a temporary fence, though, and will not last a long time or be a permanent solution.

I was staring out my kitchen window today and noticed a lilac bush that is so dense you can't even see through the many different stems. I am new to gardening, so I need the advice of people who know plants better than I do.

Would it be possible to grow a fence of lilacs in a few years that would be dense enough that a goat about the size of a very large dog would not be able to get through? If not lilac, are there any other plants that would be thick enough for this purpose?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
brendan_of_bonsai(4b AK)

I'm sure that your goats would think that fence was delicious.

Bookmark   December 9, 2008 at 2:37AM
runningtrails

Great idea! Lilacs get bare at the bottom as they get taller. You could start with lilacs for the height and then plant something thick and short for the undergrowth.

Bookmark   December 9, 2008 at 6:36AM
whiteoakdairy

The goats eating the lilac leaves would not be a problem for me. Having a fence that gave me more browse would be a plus. They don't eat the stems, though, which would be the part holding them in.

Bookmark   December 9, 2008 at 7:38AM
brendan_of_bonsai(4b AK)

I was thinking more about the goats eating any branch under 3/8ths of an inch and stripping the bark off of any branch/trunk over 1/4 of an inch. Are you sure that goats don't eat lilac stems?

Bookmark   December 9, 2008 at 8:54AM
whiteoakdairy