Black & White?

solstice98(9b/Orlando)July 25, 2005

I just started playing around with removing the color from digital shots and thought this might be the right forum to share this picture. I don't think I've done anything in black and white for 20 years (!) but this was fun to try.

If anyone else has a b/w to share, please add it!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
plantfreak(z9aKyushuJapan)

Interesting idea, but these digital images that have been desaturated just don't look the same to me as a true black and white photo. I remember the countless hours I spent in the darkroom doing alchemy with BW photos. What fun that was. When digital came along, I snubbed my nose to it. It was too easy I said, just push a key and BAM! the picture is solarized. And so on. Now here I am 15 years later and I've given in to digital technology. Still, I'll never forget the old days and the joy of watching an image form on the paper in a developer bath...ahhh.

Here are my lame attempts at desaturating a couple digital shots. The first is an orchid, Paphiopedilum bellatullum:

And next, a couple of sugi (Cryptomeria japonica) on a nearby mountain:

PF

Bookmark   July 25, 2005 at 7:49AM
joanmn

Beautiful pics!! Here's mine:

Bookmark   July 26, 2005 at 12:49AM
stacey_turner(N Yorks)

Plantfreak, I find I have to fiddle with levels and contrast to make a b&w image desaturated from color look good. My camera has a b&w setting, though, and those photos look good. I was a film snob for years too; I even developed my own black and white film in my kitchen. :-)

Bookmark   July 26, 2005 at 5:39AM
solstice98(9b/Orlando)