Houseplants to Trade and Questions

plantmedicJanuary 29, 2011

Hi- I am new to GW. I have a Green Thumb when it comes to Spider Plants, Pothos(Varigated) and Philodendron, Snake Plant (Mother-In Law Tongue), Christmas Cactus. I would like to trade for some other plants if someone wants to trade clippings... I have about 100 plants in my house (from 35+ years of propagating plants)..Have also started new Weepping Fig from cuttings from Tree..Looking for some variety and to get some new plants to expand like: Jade, Wandering Jew, Aloe Vera, Elephant Ears, Pepperomia, succulents in general would be fun to have. I have adopted many plants and trees over the years that people were discarding because they were dying and I revived..

Anyone have any ideas or suggestions on how to get started?

I recently shipped Pothos and Snake to friend in Michigan from New York, went fine.

How do you post pictures, I have another tree I keep make into plants, but dont know what it is...Maybe someone will recognize it??? Anyone know how to get clippings from a Skrew Pine, looks like has babies, not sure how to propagate that one, just got a few months ago, doing beautiful. How many clippings do people normally send when trading?

Lots of questions, thanks for any help.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
pirate_girl(Zone7 NYC)

Hi Plant Medic, welcome, I'm in NY, too, NYC.

It's a bit early to talk swap given the season & the weather, but there is an area called the Exchange Page (see the top page where you entered here), wherre folks post what they're looking for & what they've got to offer.

I'll leave discussing the posting of pix for someone else.

Bookmark   January 30, 2011 at 2:48AM
gobluedjm

Create an account on a free picture hosting site like photobucket.com
Upload your pic there, then just simply copy the html code into your post here so the pic will display in your post...thats easier than following a link etc for most people.

Bookmark   January 30, 2011 at 3:04PM