Storing allotment potatoes

Tony1964July 17, 2014

Hi all, I'm new to this sight and am hopefully going to enjoy reading and sharing information with the new and experienced.
I have had a bumper crop of 'main crop' potatoes this year, Deserie & King Edward.
I've read lots of different ways to store but I only have a small shed in my allotment.
Could I harden them off then store them in galvanised bins with shreaded paper ?
Please advise before I lose them.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
elisa_z5

Did you leave them in the ground until their skins were hardened off a bit? (well after the tops die back)
After that, get them DRY. I lay mine out on newspaper and run a fan over them for a few days, turning them over once (I grow close to 200 pounds of potatoes -- so this *can* be done with a big harvest!)
After that you want cool, good air circulation, some humidity but not too much, and DARK. And you definitely don't want freezing. How dark/not too humid/above freezing all winter is your shed?

So I'd say no on the shredded paper -- would only block air flow.
Galvanized bin is okay -- But I use plastic laundry baskets with open slats to maximize air flow. To maximize space you could use stackable bins or shelves to put the bins on.

I'm sure others will have ideas for you, too.
Can't lose the potatoes!!!

This post was edited by elisa_Z5 on Fri, Jul 18, 14 at 9:35

Bookmark   July 17, 2014 at 8:03PM
wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana

If it is cool where you live, store them in the ground for quite a while unless the weather is extra wet and the soil soggy.

Bookmark   July 17, 2014 at 10:16PM
grubby_AZ