Please look at these eggplant pant photos. Are these healthy?

wishingtonJuly 6, 2008

Hi,

This is my first year of having a garden. One thing I was very excited about was my eggpants. So far they just look odd. They are the Black Beauty variety, hybrid.

Aside from having a few bites taken out of the leaves, is this how eggplants look? I planted these in March indoors, and put them out end of May. I don't think I see any flowers yet. I wonder how long that will take.

Thank you!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bropaul(6 NJ)

They look just fine to me. Some of mine have that funny curl,too. I'm not sure what that's all about.

Bookmark   July 6, 2008 at 8:52PM
digdirt2(6b-7a No.Cent. AR HZ8 Sun-35)

They have what is called "leaf curl" (same thing as tomato leaf curl as in the same family and you can Google it for lots of info). It is a sign of stress usually caused by inconsistent soil moisture levels and/or too much nitrogen fertilizer. Once the stress is eliminated they do fine. It is a natural cry for help from the plant if you will. ;) But it doesn't affect over-all plant health or its ability to produce fruit.

Those plants could really, really use some mulch. Not only will heavy mulching (straw or old hay is perfect) stabilize the soil moisture levels and reduce the stress, keep down weeds, and insulate the roots, but it will decrease your need to water nearly as often and improve your soil in the process.

Naked soil should never be allowed in the garden. ;)

Dave

Bookmark   July 6, 2008 at 9:59PM
wishington

Wow, thanks SO much!

I'm going to figure out how to get some mulch as soon as I can. And look up the curl issue on google.

Could I use card board to put on the ground? Has anyone ever done that? I don't have an easy source for mulch. What about pine needles?

Thanks so much, you guys are fabulous!

Sylvia
(Wishington)

Bookmark   July 6, 2008 at 10:07PM
jean001(z8aPortland, OR)