clearance magestic palm

SmurfishyMarch 17, 2012

I decided to buy these decent size majestic palm plants priced at $6 a peice. I am very new to this plant. First bad thing I noticed is that they were bone dry, second thing I noticed was a dead plant, I pulled it out and there were some bugs where the dead stump was. When I got it home I noticed I would have some work to do with pruning the dead ends and that there were round brown spots in plenty various places.

Is this plant helpless, should I bring it back? Whats the best way to prune? When I re-pot should I break up the individual plants and loosen/cut the roots as I would with other plants? Thanx for any help/advice!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
summersunlight(5b)

Majesty Palms in particular are really hard to keep alive in normal house conditions. The best strategy would be to put it outside for the spring/summer and then (assuming you live in a cold climate) bring it inside only for the winter.
They really prefer the warmth, sunshine, and humidity of being outside and it will be hard to keep it happy inside a home.

Bookmark   March 18, 2012 at 11:57AM
Smurfishy

I repotted it and pruned it using a home made potting mix. I put some old fish tank gravel at the bottom to help with drainage. I did not break up the roots or anything because I read in a few places that it likes being root bound. I then cut off all the ends I saw that were browned, I think there is a bunch of new growth that died off but I am going to wait and see what happens before pruning it.

Bookmark   March 18, 2012 at 4:15PM
Tiffany, purpleinopp GardenWeb, Z8b Opp, AL(8B AL)

Hi, welcome to gardenweb.

round brown spots in plenty various places...

Do you mean dead spots on the leaves or bumpy spots? Trimming off the dead parts is a good idea. Rarely is a plant helpless, so I doubt yours are. Would you have an interest in showing us some pics?