Garden Huckleberry

jbraun_gwAugust 18, 2014

This is my first year of growing garden huckleberry. I just harvested only 2/3 cup on 10' . Info i read suggested this is a heavy feeder so next year I'll give it more.

My question to you is do I need to do something to increase the flavor? I used baking soda on the first boil, then continued boiling for another 45 min. I topped pancakes with them and used honey to get sweet but they were kind of bland. Was I expecting to much? Is it the perennial huckleberry that's more flavorful?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
dbarron(z7_Arkansas)

If by 'huckleberry', you mean wild blueberries, then...yes.

The garden 'huckleberry', is a relative of the tomato and probably not much like a blueberry at all.

Bookmark   August 18, 2014 at 9:38AM
wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana

I have raised the'garden huckleberry'. It has its fruits turned upward and they are purple. Let them get FULLY ripe as they are naturally tart. If you make pies of them [or anything] mash them up very well and be prepared to sweeten more than a dab.

Bookmark   August 18, 2014 at 10:00AM
Slimy_Okra(2b)

I have not grown them but have read that they are quite bland. You may want to try mixing them 50/50 with a more flavorful fruit, such as strawberries or peaches.

Bookmark   August 18, 2014 at 7:22PM

I think they have a strong unique flavor that may not and need not blend with anything else.

Slimy_Okra, These are not Wonderberries.

Bookmark   August 18, 2014 at 10:27PM

I have to wonder if anyone else here is talking about the 'garden huckleberry'. These fruits are borne with the blossom end sticking upward...not hanging down and small like nightshade.

Bookmark   August 19, 2014 at 9:34AM
samhain10(5a - MI)