My 7.5 and 5 pound Purple Sweet Potatoes

pitcom(7a)August 30, 2012

Well, this was my first year growing sweet potatoes. I crowded in as many slips as i could fit into my 10 x 14' raised bed filled with nothing but pure leaf compost. I planted the slips at the end of April, so they have been in ground for quite a while now. I decided to head out and see what was growing, as I said this is my first time, so perhaps i should have checked sooner........

The 5.1 pounder is a beauty..

And here is the 7.5 and 5 pounder side by side.

The 7.5 lber got a crack on its side, but thats ok. I sauteed it with some coconut oil and onions and everyone agreed, it was the best potato they had ever eaten in their lives. Next year, I will be planting much more than 6 slips of these. So far I've pulled about 8 potatoes from the 6 slips, and the smallest one was 2.2 pounds. There are still a dozen more left to dig up.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
pnbrown

Ridiculous! Those are really whopping. That variety is famous for throwing lunkers but I have never seen any that huge. I think I had some 3-4 pounders last year.

This year is much less good growing conditions for some reason, so I don't know how the harvest is going to be.

Bookmark   August 30, 2012 at 8:27PM
Edymnion(7a)

Holy crap, those are awesome. I wanted to grow purple sweet potatoes this year but didn't get around to trying to buy them until too late in the season.

Oh well, always next year.

Unless the Mayan thing is right, then who cares about some silly old sweet potaters?

Bookmark   August 30, 2012 at 8:29PM
jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)

Are they the purple fleshed ones? I got 100 of them planted, but the order got lost and I didn't get them until late. The hot summer really pushed them back. I am hoping for a long fall so they can size up.

Where did you get the slips?

Jay

Bookmark   August 30, 2012 at 9:37PM
AiliDeSpain(6a - Utah)

WOW! Great job!

Bookmark   August 31, 2012 at 12:11AM