unidentified house plant not doing very well

stew23June 19, 2014

Hi all,

I got this little plant at IKEA several months ago and promptly repotted it but it doesn't seem to have grown a millimeter since then. I have no idea what it is and the (not so helpful) label only said that it should receive bright but not direct light and to water sparingly and let dry out in between, which I have done. I'm wondering if anyone can identify it and suggest what I could do to make it happier? It doesn't appear to be dying, it just isn't flourishing.

This is my first time posting and I appreciate any responses!

Tory

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7

One of the variegated peperomia.

Bookmark   June 19, 2014 at 2:41PM
Tiffany, purpleinopp GardenWeb, Z8b Opp, AL

Yes, probably P. obtusifolia, but there are other similar species, and cultivars of various species. If you have a spot with more light, it may grow a little faster, though it's not a fast growing type of plant. Your Peperomia looks pretty peppy to me. House plant growth is usually measured by seasons, or even years, not months.

Here is a link that might be useful: Peperomia selection from EA

Bookmark   June 19, 2014 at 2:58PM
pirate_girl(Zone7 NYC)

Hi, & yes, I think that ID is right.

Also agree this isn't a fast growing plant & that actually, it looks excellent, we can see that by how the leaves look & how firm they appear.

I'd keep doing the same as you are, but in future, when you repot, I'd add about 30% perlite to that mix to make it faster draining (that mix looks quite peaty from here).

While I don't see this in the EA listings (Exotic Angels), that ID is definitely correct for Pep., very nice one too, enjoy.

Bookmark   June 19, 2014 at 3:40PM
susancarol(7)