Does anybody know what type of plant i have?

biscuit135July 16, 2014

Hey guys!

I am fairly new to owning plants and this little guy was the first one that i brought about 6 months ago, the problem is it aid it was a snake plant but im pretty sure now that this is not a snake plant... I think it may be a Ficus from research but thats about all i got. I would really appreciate if anybody could inform me aswell as providing details for care?

Cheers! :)

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
teengardener1888(NY Albany 5a)

You have a rubber tree, a Ficus

Bookmark   July 16, 2014 at 3:01PM
pirate_girl(Zone7 NYC)

More specifically a Ficus elastica, you can likely find lots of care info. now that you've got a complete & specific name for it.

PS: Sorry, but I don't grow this, so I can't suggest care, but pls. give this a couple of days time & others who do grow it will come along & help.

This post was edited by pirate_girl on Wed, Jul 16, 14 at 23:05

Bookmark   July 16, 2014 at 6:33PM
MsGreenFinger GW(8 Ireland)

My rubber tree is pretty happy in a south facing window with ample direct sun (but please provide air movement or else it burns). I water it when potting media dries almost completely. I fertilize every 2 weeks. You can also put it outside for summer if you have a garden.

Bookmark   July 17, 2014 at 11:48AM
lauraeli_

Most rubber trees are grown in low light/bright light, I believe. They dont need any direct sun to flourish. Like most house plants, morning sun is tolerated well.

I have known house plants (rubber trees) to tolerate dark corners and drought. My sister has a brown thumb. But she has had a rubber tree and a lemon-lime dracaena for a long time. She keeps her shades drawn for at least half the daylight hours, and waters occasionally. Im sure it could survive living with vampires. I know you could keep it alive.

This post was edited by Lauraeli on Fri, Jul 18, 14 at 15:33

Bookmark   July 18, 2014 at 12:13PM