mice eating my houseplants?

lgsmithSeptember 19, 2006

I just began caring for houseplants this past year, so I am new at all this. For over two weeks now something has been chewing the leaves off my houseplants and also digging holes in the soil. I assumed it to be mice but many mousetraps have gone untouched. I have found droppings that look like mice droppings in the rooms that contain plants. It's getting very frustrating to find 5-10 leaves on my floor every morning. Does anyone have any ideas or help for me?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7

It's time for some major exterminating. I'm not sure that this is a houseplant problem, but a mouse problem! Change your mousetraps, provide a different kind of bait, try several different kinds of traps, or call an exterminator. A large population of indoor mice can be a health hazard for several reasons. Good luck!

Bookmark   September 19, 2006 at 3:54PM
birdsnblooms

I saw the first mouse on Sun..and yes, they've dug in my plants, made holes, and chewed leaves, too..As much as I hate using poisons, I ended up buying D-Con/D-Kon ..it really helps..I set it in rooms where my birds can't get it. I don't like using traps cause I dont want to remove their corpses. Yuck. Soon, more mice will come in and I'll have my hands full. I also buy sticky traps and place behind the stove, etc..it works..Toni

Bookmark   September 19, 2006 at 4:05PM
granbjd22

wow, this too has just started with us too! I can't beleive this is happening to others! we put down traps with the favorite Peanutbutter. Not one trap was touched! they just dig the dirt out of my plants. Why do they do this? others can't beleive that the peanutbutter was not touched.nOw we bought a few of the ultra sonic rodent things. they DO work! it chases them out of the house!

Bookmark   September 21, 2006 at 4:33PM
lgsmith