What would your dream sunroom look like?

christie_sw_mo(Z6)October 26, 2010

I'm asking in this forum because I want a sunroom that is usuable for living space year-round so I'm thinking the conditions would be similar to the rest of our house but with more light and suitable for growing plants.

I've been hanging around Gardenweb for many years, just not in this forum because I've never had a good place for houseplants in my home.

Just thinking it would be nice to have a big room with wall-to-wall green. I must be getting the winter blues already and it's not even November yet. lol

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
greenchic(7)

oh it would look a little like this...

Here is a link that might be useful:

Bookmark   October 26, 2010 at 4:15PM
lathyrus_odoratus(5A-IL)

That's a very lovely dream.

Bookmark   October 26, 2010 at 7:06PM
christie_sw_mo(Z6)

Beautiful Greenchic! The fireplace makes it look very inviting.

Would you want a glass ceiling or just walls? Lots of birds on my property. I'm not sure overhead glass would stay clean very long. lol And I was wondering if a glass ceiling would make it TOO sunny for some plants.

I was looking through Google images and saw a sunroom that had a horizontal pole suspended from the ceiling that went all the way across the room for hanging plants. That would be a handy feature. Or maybe a couple columns of adjustable bookcase type shelves to sit plants on instead of just glass all the way around.

Here's what comes up on Google images for "Sunroom plants"

Here is a link that might be useful: Google images

Bookmark   October 27, 2010 at 7:44AM
angeleyedcat

I'd love that dream too! I have 2 stories high of windows in my living room, it works good but if I ever do get a sunroom I'd like it to have at a least part glass ceiling to give more sun longer if needed, especially during the winter in the north. I'd really like the floor to be "easy clean" so I wouldn't have to worry about the mess.