HELP My totems will not stay straight

waterlily_girl(4)July 16, 2012

I am a newbie glass totem junkie and need some advice on how to keep my glass totems standing up straight. The base of my totems are beer or wine bottles and when I put them over the rebar (with a copper pipe covering the rebar) they slip and sit sideways or crooked. Does anyone have suggestions on keeping them upright and straight?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tehuti

I suppose you could put a dollop of Silicon on the copper pipe, then push it into the bottle base, and wait for it to set-up. Then mount the flower on the rebar. Just a guess

Bookmark   July 16, 2012 at 2:05AM
chelcass(Z5 Michigan, U.P.)

Here are a few suggestions that may help you.

1. use shims (small pieces of wood) at least two (one on each side, four would be better) to steady the totem.

2. Since you are using wine and beer bottle, get corks (hobby stores and poss. wal-mart) drill a hole in middle just big enough for re-bar (You want it very snug) and trim cork to fit into neck of Beer/wine bottle.

3. You can get wood dowels large enough to snuggly fit into the Beer/wine bottles. Trim the end of the dowel to a point so it will be earier to pound into the ground.

4. make a wood cap for the rebar (don't drill all the way thru) glue the cap to the rebar (I use E6000) or make a cap out of a cork and then put a good dab of glue on top of the cap,let the glue set up a few minutes before put the totem on.

Hope this help. Chelcass

Bookmark   July 16, 2012 at 1:19PM
ravencajun Zone 8b TX(8b)

You can buy a foam covering to put on pipe to insulate them, the foam tube is slit to easily go on the pipe, cut a small piece, couple inches long, slip on the rebar or pipe you are using, you can put a bit of silicone to hold it on, then slide the bottle on over the foam it will hold it in place.
You can also use Styrofoam peanuts pushed in to take up the slack in the bottle neck.

Bookmark   July 17, 2012 at 8:14PM