Cyclamen africanum

mateopava(8 El Paso, Tx)December 30, 2013

These will eventually go out on my balcony, and only come in with the threat of a freeze being that this species is frost sensitive. I should post on the balcony forum, but since this forum is more active, I thought I would post here first.
This is my first time growing Cyclamen from seed. They were slow to germinate, took 6 weeks from the sow date. They are now 2 weeks since first appearing above the soil line, and although they are growing taller, it is incredibly slow and still have yet to open their first leaf. Is this normal and I am just being impatient? I'm hoping someone here has experience with these and can give me some cultural advice.
I am currently growing them under grow lights in my office. It goes to about 60F at night, and to 70F during the day.
I have a unheated room at home with a bright southeast facing window, the temp in that room fluctuates between 50F and 55F, would it be better to grow them there?
Would it be better if I just put them on my patio and only bring them in if there is a frost risk?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
dbarron(z7_Arkansas)

I can't specifically advise about africanum, but hardy cyclamen grow darn slowly.

Bookmark   December 31, 2013 at 8:55AM
petrushka

i've sprouted florist cyclamen from seed. don't know how they compare in size/growth to africanum. they are quite large when mature, but the seedlings were tiny.
i kept them tented for a year in egg-carton 'propagator' in very shallow medium, since i was afraid to dry them up.
they grew ultra slow.
at one year with a few leaves the clump was not larger then a quarter. and out of a dozen plants only 2 survived the 2nd yr.
by 3rd yr they were the size of small african violet and they bloomed. after that they finally started putting on growth.