Bermuda not growing in the shade

Sherm1082April 26, 2014

Hello everyone. I have a part of my lawn that does not grow grass well due to the fence blocking the sun. My bermuda is still waking up but you can clearly see the definitive line of where my grass just isn't growing as well. Any green you see near the fence is weeds. If I'm not mistaken, as the temperatures heat up, that part of the grass will start to do better but it obviously isn't getting enough sun. What are my options to fill it in? I definitely do not want to have put down any sod so I am really looking and seeding options. Any info as far as timing goes would be appreciated as well as info regarding where to get the seed. Thanks in advance for the help.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Sandhills_NC(7b)

I'm still new to bermudagrass (my sodded front yard is only 2 years old), but from what I understand, no bermuda grass does great in the shade, and growing bermuda from seed in the shade is nearly impossible. I've been able to move chunks of grass around to fill dead spots with some success, but you have to have grass somewhere else to pull from. If the rest of the grass is growing well, I would think it might slowly spread and fill in, but for faster results you'd probably have to buy sod. Just my opinion, let us know what you do and how it turns out!

Bookmark   April 26, 2014 at 9:37PM
Sherm1082

Thanks for the response. Like you said, Bermuda doesn't do well in the shade and I am fully aware of that. With that being said, what can I put in the shady spots? I heard zoysia is good or I don't know if I should just try a fescue.

Bookmark   April 26, 2014 at 11:49PM
Kluttery

I wouldn't attempt to plant any grass that close to the fence. Aside from the shade issue, it seems too difficult to cut. Why not mulch the area? You can either use the area for a flower bed or simply leave it as a mulched border.

Bookmark   April 27, 2014 at 8:01PM
dchall_san_antonio(8 San Antonio)