How to treat for grubs/japanese beetle with no toxic poisons

fpmom(6)July 8, 2013

I'm new to growing/maintaining lawn and while I am enjoying the process I am getting frustrated trying to work out all the problems and how to fix them
We have 2 dogs and 2 small children and so I would prefer to maintain the lawn organically or at least with the safest least toxic products
I'm wondering if any body can advise how to treat for grubs/japanese beetle without putting down the really toxic stuff that wipes out everything including all the good worms etc (and if I did do this how long before kids/dogs could walk on the lawn?)
My understanding is that the grubs are going to start eating up the grass roots again come end July/beg August through September (we live in New England FYI) - and I would like to kill off the grubs before they kill off my grass again (happened in Spring this year - I got a lot of brown patches in June)
What can I apply that is not completely toxic? Any low grade grub killer out there (not that I could find via research)
I plan to start up a milky spore regime but need something to work during the 2 years I need to wait for that to work
Has anybody tried and had success with beneficial nematodes?
Thanks for any advice - I'm new to this but keen!!!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
botanicalbill(9b SWFlorida)

Use milky spore. It infects the grubs. It is safe for lawns and will stay active in your soil for years.

Here is a link that might be useful: milky spore

Bookmark   July 8, 2013 at 12:06PM
fpmom(6)

botanicalbill I intend to start using the milky spore but I have read and been told that it won't start working for 2 years and in the meantime my lawn will be eaten up! How did you start a resume with milky spore and what is your experience?

Bookmark   July 8, 2013 at 12:16PM
botanicalbill(9b SWFlorida)