Please name plant and advise on care, propagation

GardenNovice6420June 9, 2014

I found this little guy outside in the pot featured in the photo. Soil was dried out and there were several yellow and crusty leaves which I have removed. I kept these shown here because I thought maybe I could save it and make new plants from them. I'm a serious novice at gardening and don't even know what plant this is. The stems are all wilted over so I propped it up against the wall and over a nearby framed photo. Please help.

Thanks,

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
JasonFromWNY(5b)

Kind of looks like a Philodendron vine or maybe a golden Pothos. Both are fairly common indoor plants. A healthy watering and a sunny window will probably have in back in shape shortly.

Once the leaves start looking a little healthier you could try re-rooting them. Cut the vines a few inches below the leaves and stick the cut ends into a glass of water. In a week or so the vines will grow new roots that you can re-pot. This way you get a little less of the long bare vine look.

When healthy, they act like most any vine would, they look for something to cling to and climb up. If there's a table leg next to them, they'll climb it. In some cases I've actually seen the vines cling to a bare wall with small roots they send out of the side. They don't grow terribly fast though, and you can train them to climb most anything just by placing a vine where you want it to go.

Bookmark   June 9, 2014 at 6:10AM
gregorson

Philodendron Scandens, probably.

Bookmark   June 9, 2014 at 6:18AM
Tiffany, purpleinopp GardenWeb, Z8b Opp, AL(8B AL)

Epipremnum (Pothos.) Many discussions on house plant forum.

Bookmark   June 9, 2014 at 9:08AM
GardenNovice6420

Thank you, JasonFromWNY, gregorson and purpleinopp.

I will follow your suggestion, JasonFromWNY.

Nydia

Bookmark   June 9, 2014 at 10:32AM
More Discussions
Flowering Vine/plant Identification
Have had this plant for years, seldom blooms, but it...