Pond with stream

psihiartMarch 28, 2014

Hello, I'm very new to this but always dreamed about having my fish. I bought a house that have natural pond that fed by stream. Its oval 20 by 40 feet and gets gradually deeper up to 5 -6 feet in a center of it. Right now water is crystal clear with running stream, but I remember in a summer when we had no rain for a long time water was brownish and low since stream disappeared at this time. My question is : 1)do I have to run filter if stream is active and water going at one end of pond and escaping at other? 2? there is a lot of leaves on a bottom of pond now from surrounding trees .Should I remove all leaves from pond before getting koi(that's what Iam planning to do.
Any input appreciated .

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
chas045(7b)

I don't have koi and was hoping someone with koi experience would address your questions. Most of us here probably don't have experience with natural streams either. However I believe it is safe to say that filtration and other bio-cleaning should not be necessary in a free running situation.

I have a long artificial stream, and (as I have mentioned even recently), I believe it is doing almost all of my cleaning and treatment. I always have clear water unless I have disturbed the stream or pond bottoms; and they become clear within a couple hours or a day depending on the masses of muddy bottom I may have disturbed.

Therefore, I suspect that you probably don't need to do anything. You can certainly remove the leaves and some of the gunk if you like. I do that with the stream two or three times a year. I have only once done a major clean out of the pond and occasionally have removed some gunk with bottom plant cleanup. My pond is six years old. I also have a non-maintained pond that has goldfish that grow better than in my stream/pond. However, no flow, no cleaning, may not work with koi instead!?

Bookmark   March 30, 2014 at 3:41PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo