Cultivated plant with palmate leaves, white margins

w1ldflower(5)August 22, 2014

I posted this before but wasn't able to get a positive ID. This was growing in a local public garden in fairly dry soil in partial to dappled shade. No sign of flowering or seed production that was obvious. There were a couple of very thin brown shriveled stems emerging near the leaves but I couldn't for certain say they belonged to this plant and not another. Leaves measured ~3-4 inches in diameter with either five or seven leaflets. Leaf margins are white and irregularly toothed. Thanks for any leads!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Desirai(7B)

my immediate thought was it looks similar to helleborus, but I'm not an expert on plants I haven't grown.

Bookmark   August 22, 2014 at 9:46PM
aurorawa(8B)

I would agree and say helleborus. The leaves vary greatly in color, size, and some have patterns of different colors. A great plant that blooms late winter through to late spring/early summer. Evergreen and likes shade/light sun.

Bookmark   August 23, 2014 at 2:10AM
thedecoguy
    Bookmark   August 23, 2014 at 5:37AM
esh_ga

Doesn't look like Potentilla to me.

Bookmark   August 23, 2014 at 9:03AM
earline_pa zone 6 Pa.

I knew I saw this before.

EDIT....Closer look I think I'm wrong :(

Here is a link that might be useful: white edges

This post was edited by earline_pa on Sat, Aug 23, 14 at 9:59

Bookmark   August 23, 2014 at 9:56AM
w1ldflower(5)