not gonna do it!

barbaraparmJuly 13, 2014

I began in April of this year starting seeds of many varieties! I did everything right, gave them all the TLC that I had.
After putting them in the ground they were hit by rabbits, chipmunks, insects, u name it!
Needless to say, I was heartbroken. I have 1 lousy zinnia to show for ALL my hard work!
I am not one to give up! I will devise some sort of protective barrier next season to cover & protect my seedlings. Whether it be chicken wire, mess screen, cones, I WILL PROTECT THEM!!!!!!
I'M ON A MISSION!
Any comments or ideas welcomed! ;-)

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
sdambr(7b)

I am winter sowing next year, this is my first year sowing from seeds, so I have not tried it yet. Seems to solve all the problems you had. Lots of info here and all over the web. There is a forum here all about it. Good luck!

Bookmark   July 15, 2014 at 9:46PM
Bloomin_Onion(2/3)

Hi there, this year I had my first garden too. I finally found myself in a place in life where I had a place with a small area to garden in. We live in southern Canada, and people here consider the nice weather precious. Frost comes around October, and by December it's -40*F. The cold lasts until April, and mid may is generally considered the "safe mark" to plant outside. I decided I was going to go gung-ho with my veggie plants, considering I only have a 16'X5' space to garden in.