Coffee Grounds + Coffee Filters = ??

toast5616January 31, 2008

I have been adding coffee grounds to my compost pile for a good 2 months (at least) now, and I always do the dirty work of extracting the paper filters by hand just to be sure I don't add any dyes or bleach (hence the WHITE color of a filter - they DO sell the brown ones, which say BLEACH FREE). I am trying to do the whole organic thing as STRICTLY as I can. But from the experts... does it really matter? What effect will it have? And how nicely will the filters decompose/effect the ratio of everything and PH? Thanks.

- Toast

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
flatlander(z6KS)

I've been composting coffee and filters for years. They decompose just fine in the bin.

Bookmark   January 31, 2008 at 8:53PM
toast5616

Thanks. What about in bulk sizes? For example, I know a local coffee shop that has a trash can for their employees to dispose of coffee grounds and their filters ONLY. Would mass amounts of filters be okay as long as the pile itself was also relatively large?

Bookmark   January 31, 2008 at 11:49PM
cali1023

Compost piles love eating coffee filters. The tiny amount of bleach in the filters is nothing to worry about.

Bookmark   February 1, 2008 at 12:24AM
Kimmsr(4a/5b-MI)

Those white coffee filters are made from bleached pulp but by the time you get them there is no bleach left, no dyes, no toxins other that he ones you might add. They can be composted just like any other paper product.

Bookmark   February 1, 2008 at 7:40AM
annpat(5-Maine)

Out of necessity, I've gotten more lax on the quality of the materials I'll add to my pile. I can't make enough compost without getting grass clippings and leaves, of unknown origin, from the town. After recognizing that, I relaxed and started putting stuff in my previously organic pile that, for instance, contained preservatives (grocery store leftovers) or bleaches (as in coffee filters). For the most part I try to run an organic pile.