Can you compost dog hair?

whiteoakian(6)January 25, 2010

I am new at composting. I saw where someone had posted that they had composed dog hair. Really? If so, since we foster golden retrievers, I have plenty. Thanks for advice.

Susan

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jonas302(central mn 4)

Sure can in moderation of course it doesn't decompose very fast but is rich in good things

My lab is black so I don't mind at all if there is some hair that isn't completly composted

Bookmark   January 25, 2010 at 9:17PM
heirloomjunkie(5a)

Is it true that dog hair/scent in the garden will keep away rodents and rabbits? I had my garden in a large dog pen and didn't see a one last year.

Kim

Bookmark   January 25, 2010 at 9:25PM
beermaninpa

One of the things I have seen is to leave it out for the birds to build nests.

Bookmark   January 25, 2010 at 9:40PM
Kimmsr(4a/5b-MI)

You can compost the hair from dogs, people, or about any other animal because it is a protein and will be digested by the bacteria that digest everything else. I have not seen that the hair from dogs, or anything else, will keep rabbits, squirrels, groundhogs, skunks, or much of anything else out of your garden.

Bookmark   January 26, 2010 at 6:55AM
whiteoakian(6)

Thank you for the info. I'll go ahead and add that to the pile. DH will think I've totally lost it. And if it keeps some critters away, that's a bonus!
Susan

Bookmark   January 26, 2010 at 12:21PM
gardenlen(s/e qld aust)

yep any hair it all contains trace elements, have heard of some who collect it from hairdresser shops, we don't compost in heaps bins all our occurs in the garden, so it works well for us.

len

Here is a link that might be useful: lens garden page

Bookmark   January 26, 2010 at 12:30PM
lazy_gardens

Some hair decomposes faster than others.

Oily fur, such as the wooly undercoats of Akitas, Malemutes, and many retrievers, is slower to decompose than silky hair.

But it will eventually decompose.