how to recognize a climber/rambler vs a regular rose?

ittaydApril 23, 2014

Hi,

I'm completely new to roses and gardening, so forgive me if my question is very basic (I couldn't find it in the FAQ).

I bought a bunch of roses. According to the nursery, they are climbers. But to me they look like ordinary plants. I don't see any ways they could cling to whatever they are climbing on (in my case steel posts). This is vs vines for example that have "tentacles" for latching.

So, how do I recognize a climber (or rambler, I understand both climb, but can't figure out the distinction in the final result)

Regards,
Ittay

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
cecily(7 VA)

Climbing roses are rose bushes with long, flexible branches that can be tied to the fence. They will never develop 'tentacles' like a grape vine. Ramblers are extremely large climbing roses that bloom once per year (in spring). A climbing rose will cover an archway. A rambler will cover the whole garage.

When your new roses become established, they will send up new canes (branches) that will be soft and flexible. These are the canes that you will tie to the fence. You can use various materials to fasten the canes to the fence (twine, old pantyhose, etc). I hope this helps.

Bookmark   April 23, 2014 at 10:04AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
seil zone 6b MI

As Cecily said climbers do not have tendrils, like vines do, to latch on to things and climb on their own. They must be trained and tied to trellises and supports in order to do climbing. If left untrained or unsupported they will form large fountaining bushes.