How to prune willow bush

prinesurf(6)October 14, 2009

Hello

I'm a gardening novice. I have 5 real nice blue artic willlows planted last fall at 3 gallons each. They have grown all summer and are now about 3 x 3. When and how do I prune these guys? Should I wait for them to grow more? do a harsh cutting

any infor would be helpful

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
whaas_5a(5A SE WI)

What are your goals?

Are you trying to keep it a certain size?
Are you trying to get a certain shape?

Typical time to prune is spring.

Blue Artic Willows respond well to pruning...in that case if you are tyring to rejuvenate or keep them to size pruning them down to about 18" above the ground in spring is perfectly acceptable.

If size isn't a concern let them go...but they may require a rejuvination after 5 years.

Bookmark   October 14, 2009 at 5:14PM
prinesurf(6)

Hello
thanks for the reply my goal is to get them big but full. Right now since this was the first large growth they look spindly. I wasn't sure if they should look this way or I need to cut them back to make them more full. and it so how do I do it? how much?

Bookmark   October 14, 2009 at 5:57PM
whaas_5a(5A SE WI)

Prune back about 12" (not 12" to the ground) at anytime, except for late in the growing season (early spring before bud break would make the most sense). That will allow it to get fuller.

I planted 3 of these and yes the first year they looked "spindly". By the 2nd / 3rd year they where growing like gangbusters.

Pruning in the middle of growing season makes for more interest as the new emerging foilage has a light red hue to hit (like the stems).

Bookmark   October 14, 2009 at 7:55PM
ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5

i NEVER prune a shrub for the first two years.. let them grow some roots.. and get themselves growing..

I WOULD NEVER... EVER.... prune a SHRUB at height .... been there.. done that.. oops ...

either let them do their own thing..