Morning shade, strong afternoon sun, in CA

Bee_beeApril 15, 2014

Hi,

I'm very new to gardening, live in the CA, bay area. Trying to spruce an empty backyard. Would like to get your suggestions/opinions, what are your top two or top three preferred plants for backyard garden edges (near fence) that fit the following criteria:1) area has morning shade and strong afternoon sun (1-5 or 6pm). 2) plants that are not invasive (grow too fast that it overtakes garden). 3) low maintenance & hardy 4) drought tolerant

Thank you

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gardenweed_z6a

That's a tall order. I'm sure you'll get suggestions here but something else you might consider is a visit to a local garden nursery where you can ask questions and see what plants are being sold in your locale.

Another suggestion is to visit a nursery website or two. Santa Rosa Gardens (in FL) and White Flower Farm (in CT) come to mind. Both provide plenty of online garden information, ideas & suggestions.

Invasive plants are listed on the Internet by state so that's also information at your fingertips. I've posted a link to one website below.

Good luck & happy gardening!

Here is a link that might be useful: Invasive species by state - map

Bookmark   April 15, 2014 at 5:02PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gyr_falcon(Sunset 23 USDA 9)

The bay area has different growing conditions than the areas where we generally design. But what you want to look for is a full sun plant that can grow in part shade; you do not want to try to convince a shade grower to be happy in 4-5 hours of strong sun. A number of plants would be happy with that amount of sun, so you should still have a variety to choose from.