Preparing new garden bed

asaund(6)March 13, 2011

Hello all and thank you in advance for answering my questions....

I have a large area in my back yard where - last spring - we unfortunately had to get rid of 4 dead pine trees. This year I would like an island garden bed. I have never done anything like this before and don't know where to start. For instance, do I need to dig up oldroots? All I have done so far is spread grass clippings over area and sprayed roundup on weeds that pop up. I live in southern Ohio and have heavy clay soil.

I assume the soil will be pretty acidic from pines so I plan on hydrangeas and other plants that can tolerate that ( would welcome any suggestions on other plants ). Area get full sun all say.

Thanks again. Amy

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Kimmsr(4a/5b-MI)

Do not assume anything about your soil, look at what you have and find out what it may need. A good reliable soil test to determine what hte soils pH is as well as the levels of N, P, K, ca, and Mg would be appropriate now. In addition these simple soil tests can also help,
1) Soil test for organic matter. From that soil sample put enough of the rest to make a 4 inch level in a clear 1 quart jar, with a tight fitting lid. Fill that jar with water and replace the lid, tightly. Shake the jar vigorously and then let it stand for 24 hours. Your soil will settle out according to soil particle size and weight. For example, a good loam will have about 1-3/4 inch (about 45%) of sand on the bottom. about 1 inch (about 25%) of silt next, about 1 inch (25%) of clay above that, and about 1/4 inch (about 5%) of organic matter on the top.