Snow Blower Tire Diameter for Incline

edge(6a)October 12, 2012

I am looking at two stage snow blowers and I have a driveway with a 12 degree incline , which breaks to level halfway up. Sometimes we get wet heavy snow. How much of an difference in traction would I see on snow blowers with a 13 in vs 15 in diameter tire. I realized that tire width lugs, and compound etc may make a difference in traction. But will the 15 inch tire be much better in traction than a 13 given they were about the same quality and design?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mla2ofus

I think the 15's will do better w/ your slope. I'll also advise using chains.
Mike

Bookmark   October 12, 2012 at 10:50PM
tom_nwnj(z6 NJ)

Sure more tire width helps, but a heavy wet snow is gonna push back just the same. I would look to oversize the unit, for your length of driveway.

My drive is 500 feet, some incline, but not 12 degrees. Have a 1333 Yardman, 6 forwards, 2 reverses. I use them all. Some people say Yardman is cheapo. Yeah, but I don't beat it like a rug. Bought this one in 2001. Works great. Also, NEVER stop your snowblower with an auger full of wet snow. Sure to bust the belt. Been there, done that.

Bookmark   October 26, 2012 at 6:25AM
exmar

Definitely get tire chains, you can google them and order online a lot cheaper than buyng from the dealer. Loading the tires wouldn't make a lot of difference as all your weight is already sitting on the axle IMHO. Also, going downhill take a "full bite" and on the return trip take a "lesser bite" depending on conditiions.

I don't think tire diameter really works into it unless it means a bigger machine, width=traction particuarly with chains.