Honeysuckle

melfield_wy(5b Wyoming)June 9, 2012

My apologies if this has been covered before... I'm new to perennials. Does anyone know of a honeysuckle variety that hardy down to zones 4 or 5?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5

i am in z5 ...

and i have the old ugly standard.. everywhere ... probably invasive..

and the vine version with white and yellow flowers ... no winter damage at all ... i do not know its name ...

Here is a link that might be useful: LONICERA japonica 'Halliana'

Bookmark   June 9, 2012 at 5:15PM
wieslaw59

Lonicera periclymenum is supposed to be hardy to zone 4. There are several varieties of it, of which Serotina and Belgica Select are widely available here in Europe, do not know about America though. Some of the clones are very fragrant, but some are less so.

Bookmark   June 9, 2012 at 7:24PM
aachenelf z5 Mpls

Around here, Honeysuckle can mean:

a shrub
a vine
some of the oldtimers even refer to Columbine as Honeysuckle

Kevin

Bookmark   June 9, 2012 at 9:32PM
melfield_wy(5b Wyoming)

Thanks! What I am looking for is the vining type - that creeps up a trellis like Clematis.

Bookmark   June 9, 2012 at 10:34PM
mrtulin

goldflame. not a tight twiner....needs support but lovely over a stone wall or some other support. Be careful not to plant the invasive one. Here in ma in zone 5a, a conservation property's trees and shrubs have been smothered in the yellow white one, probably japanese honeysuckle]

Bookmark   June 9, 2012 at 10:51PM
MaeT(z5 NL, Canada)

There are quite a lot of Honeysuckle Vines hardy down to Zone 4 and 5 USDA. I'm Z5 Can and I have no problem growing Goldflame honeysuckle vine. Its starting to bloom now. I also have Coral and Dropmore Scarlet.

Bookmark   June 10, 2012 at 7:45AM
terrene(5b MA)