Stimulating lower tree branch growth?

rogerv_gwApril 8, 2014

We have some mature pittosporum tennufolia that our neighbors have hacked the lower branches off of, often leaving a foot long stump, and often with breakage. The trees have survived this, and I've cut off the extra that they didn't feel like removing (or couldn't reach).

I'd like to know if there's some way to stimulate lower branch growth on these couple of trees. I've heard that if you make some cuts in the trunk, that might work, but I don't really know how to do that.

Has anyone out there had any success with this, or know anyone that has? I could really use some advice.

Thanks.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5

the term you are looking for is: rejuvenation pruning ...

i have no experience with this plant.. so i googled it for you ...

it does not involve what you are thinking ... most plant have dormant buds.. that will trigger when a large branch is cut.. but it might take half the summer... but the key is usually that you want this to happen low to the ground... as you dont want a whole new bush.. at height... the stub left.. will eventually fail ... unless you are really thorough with followup pruning ...

hit the link.. while you are waiting for specific replies...

all that.. or the common rules of shrub pruning dont apply to this plant.. and i will be chastised mercilessly ....

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

Bookmark   April 8, 2014 at 7:05PM
gardengal48

Much more shrubby in nature than tree-like, removal of the lower branches generally results in a bare trunked specimen. Woody plants that will sprout from low on the trunk (under existing branches) are limited and if this was one, would have done so already. In most cases, new branch growth will only appear on the upper portions of the plant.

Try planting something low and leafy and shrubby in front of the pitts to hide the bare legs. It's about as good as you are going to get.