Not sure if oak tree is dead?

marinewife2009April 13, 2011

Hello!

There is an oak tree in my back yard that was apparently transplanted there (from the front) by the previous owners. I am not sure what exactly is wrong with it, but it definitely is not blooming as it should! I was wondering if any experts out there could look at the pictures and tell me if it is a lost cause . . . if not, what should we do with it? If you click on the pic below, it will take you to the picasa album. Dead Tree

It has started to flower just a bit as spring has started here in South Carolina. But it seems very diseased!

Thank you in advance for any help you can give as I am new to gardening (and to the forum!) :)

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tsugajunkie z5 SE WI

Whatever that bondage is that's encasing the rootball is the likely cause.

tj

Bookmark   April 13, 2011 at 10:12PM
brandon7 TN_zone(7)

What is that stuff on the ground. I can't tell if it's pieces of tile or wood or what. I guess that's what TJ is talking about. Whatever it is, does it extend underground?

Bookmark   April 13, 2011 at 10:38PM
poaky1

If you're getting green new growth it's not dead, but the black on the trunk bottom is weird, I assumed those were rocks on the soil.Is it a live oak? They lose their leaves in spring and put out new ones, did it defoliate? I can't see anything that would worry me if it were my tree besides the black on the trunk,maybe my eyeballs are not working as good as someone elses.

Bookmark   April 13, 2011 at 10:52PM
Dan Staley

A good indicator that a plant is alive is when it flowers.

I suspect the black stuff on the trunk is from a brush fire. And that stuff around the trunk all looks bad. Poor thing just has obstacle after obstacle thrown at it, and it keeps going on. A lesson for all of us!

Dan

Bookmark   April 13, 2011 at 10:59PM
marinewife2009