botched rose tree

saltarelloJune 11, 2014

I am an amateur amateur gardener...we moved into a house with a very manicured garden which was high maintenance and over the past 5 years I have been filling in the giant garden with lots of hardy plants that need less care, well I bought a yellow knock out rose tree last year to add to the front garden and after the rough winter I noticed all of my regular rose bushes were growing but saw nothing with my tree, so, yes, I chopped it down. I didnt even dig it out because I didn't want to disturb the salvia and spiderwort and lilies....so fast forward a few weeks, yes, it has sprung up from the ground. MY question is, now what? It looks healthy and happy, but it's a stick with red leaves that's about 1.5 feet high, and I've been plucking the lower leaves off to encourage it into treeform again. Honestly, I just don't know what I'm doing!

Any help would be amazing! thanks, jaclyn

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Kippy(SoCal zone 10. Sunset Zone 24)

It sounds like you cut off the budded rose that died in the winter freeze. What you would have left would be the rootstock rose. Guessing Doctor Huey.

He is a semi double once bloomer with red petals if you want to wait and see. Sounds like you will have to wait a while anyway to dig the rest of him out of the soil

Bookmark   June 12, 2014 at 11:28AM
seil zone 6b MI

If it's Dr. Huey it won't bloom this year. It will bloom next year on the canes it grows this year. Although it can be quite pretty when it blooms it's not the best roses and is a disease magnet. Once you cut the top off your Yellow Knock Out was gone forever.

Bookmark   June 12, 2014 at 11:45AM
saltarello

Thanks for your knowledge. I'm not sure about Dr. Huey. I bought it from Lowes...so I guess I will wait and see what happens. I'm wondering if I should have just let it be a few more weeks and not cut it.

Bookmark   June 12, 2014 at 4:56PM
jerijen(Zone 10)