When to plant roses?

marylpn(6)November 23, 2010

I live in central PA and would love to order and plant the Knockout Rose so that it blooms next summer. Is it ok to plant at this time of year? I have heard different opinions, one says wait until winter when the plant is dormant another says wait till spring. Would appreciate any advise on this.

Thanks, Mary

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
york_rose

I haven't gardened in central PA, but I grew roses in the Philadelphia area, and also got my bachelor's degree in horticulture at the Main Campus of Penn State (and also lived in State College for about a year and a half after I graduated), so I'm not completely unfamiliar with the climate.

There are others on this forum who do grow roses in central PA (& similar areas in neighboring states). My climate north of Boston is probably similar in temperature to yours as far as winter cold goes, and approximately when the killing frosts hit.

I can only speak for myself. Having said that, in your shoes I'd wait to plant your rose until next spring, maybe a week or two after the Forsythia start blooming.

The good thing about the Knockout roses is that they're often pretty forgiving about how they're handled. Even so, if I lived in central PA and was going to plant (or transplant) a rose in the autumn I think I'd much prefer to do it between mid-September and Halloween. After that I think it probably gets too cold for the rose to settle in well before winter.

If you do plant it in the spring you'll need to make sure it gets enough water during those first months in the ground, and if you have a droughty summer (as often happens) you'll also need to keep an eye on its watering needs during that summer.

Adding one or two inches of a good mulch above the ground around the newly planted rose (but leaving a circle of bare soil extending out a few inches from where the new stems emerge from the soil) will help enormously with all of that.